Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksHighway Management Unit

​​​​​​​​​​​​Ministry of Development, through the Public Works Department is responsible for providing all the needs of the infrastructure in this country.
In providing the nation with infrastructure, the ministry also attends to the care of its assets such as buildings, roads, bridges, drainage, sewerage and water to ensure that it is well maintained in good condition and continues to be safe for public use.

The Public Works Department, in this regard, took the initiative to change its mindset or perception of this responsibility from ''Maintenance'' to ''Management''. Various reform initiatives were implemented by the Department of Roads of Public Works Department, in particular, the Road Maintenance Division with road maintenance engineering taking on the challenges of these changes with the transformation of asset management procedures.

For this issue, the focus lies on the establishment of the Highway Management Unit (HMU) which was officially launched by the Minister of Development on 28 September 2011 as a follow up to the previous issue dedicated to the Department of Roads, Public Works Department.

With its establishment, the unit began ''progressively'' taking over the management of highways which includes:

  1. Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah Highway
  2. Tungku Highway
  3. Rimba Highway
  4. Muara –Tutong Highway
  5. Tutong – Telisai Highway

The Highway Management Unit, for now, has set itself on a more manageable pace into the future by adopting the 'learn-as-you go' approach.

In the future, its scope of operations will also include Seria and Kuala Belait, once the Seria By-Pass widening project is complete.



 Work Activities